Yes No
We Value Your Privacy. We are commited to privacy & strictly adhere to our privacy policy. For further details, please read our privacy policy.

Delaware Car Insurance Laws

Auto insurance laws vary from state to state, and what is required in one state may not be required in another so it is important to know the regulations in Delaware. The penalties and fines for not having proper insurance can be expensive so make sure you know what is required in Delaware.

DE Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations:

Delaware Dept. of Insurance
841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904

Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in DE:

$15,000 for injury/death to one person

$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person

$10,000 for damage to property

DE Insurance is Not Required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles


DE Uninsured Penalties:

The fine for a first offense can range from $100 to $2000, and up to $3,000 if you get caught a second time without applicable liability insurance.

The DMV can issue you other penalties too, like suspending your license for six months making it hard to get to school or work. Your vehicle registration may be suspended too, meaning your car isn't registered for the road at all whether you or another driver want to use it.


DE Department of Insurance Contact Information:

1-302-674-7300 or
Toll Free: 1-800-282-8611

DE State Insurance Department Website:





Directory of Delaware Auto Insurance Agents by County

Kent
New Castle
Sussex

Ads by Google