Yes No
We Value Your Privacy. We are commited to privacy & strictly adhere to our privacy policy. For further details, please read our privacy policy.

Minnesota Car Insurance Laws

Auto insurance laws vary from state to state, and what is required in one state may not be required in another so it is important to know the regulations in Minnesota. The penalties and fines for not having proper insurance can be expensive so make sure you know what is required in Minnesota.

MN Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations:

Minnesota Dept. of Commerce
85 - 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101

Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in MN:

$30,000 for injury/death to one person

$60,000 for injury to more than one person

$10,000 for damage to property

MN Insurance is Not Required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles


MN Uninsured Penalties:

Being caught by a police officer driving without insurance is considered misdemeanor crime in MN if it is your first time and a gross misdemeanor for subsequent violations within 10 years.

Some Minnesota jurisdictions allow for a driver to produce proof of insurance before the date and time specified on the citation of their court appearance. Even if proof is given at the time of or before the court date there are fines that can set at between $250 and $1000. Because this is a misdemeanor violation up to 90 days of jail time can also be ordered by the court.

Other penalties listed by Minnesota for driving without insurance can be license suspension or revocation. If you have received a citation for driving without insurance contact the court that is listed on your ticket to find out if your penalties will be lessened if you obtain car insurance before your court date.

Failure to hold current auto insurance in the state of Minnesota will lead you to trouble, especially if it's not your first time getting caught without it. Depending on which jurisdiction you're in, you could be given a fine that could range from $250 to $1,000. Time in prison (up to 90 days) is also possible.


MN Department of Insurance Contact Information:

1-651-296-4026 or
Toll Free: 1-800-657-3602

MN State Insurance Department Website:





Directory of Minnesota Auto Insurance Agents by County

Aitkin
Anoka
Becker
Beltrami
Benton
Blue Earth
Brown
Carlton
Carver
Cass
Chippewa
Chisago
Clay
Clearwater
Cook
Cottonwood
Crow Wing
Dakota
Dodge
Douglas
Faribault
Fillmore
Freeborn
Goodhue
Grant
Hennepin
Houston
Hubbard
Isanti
Itasca
Jackson
Kanabec
Kandiyohi
Kittson
Koochiching
Lac Qui Parle
Lake
Lake Of The Woods
Le Sueur
Lincoln
Lyon
Mahnomen
Marshall
Martin
Mcleod
Meeker
Mille Lacs
Morrison
Mower
Murray
Nicollet
Nobles
Norman
Olmsted
Otter Tail
Pennington
Pine
Pipestone
Polk
Pope
Ramsey
Red Lake
Redwood
Renville
Rice
Rock
Roseau
Saint Louis
Scott
Sherburne
Sibley
Stearns
Steele
Stevens
Swift
Todd
Traverse
Wabasha
Wadena
Waseca
Washington
Watonwan
Wilkin
Winona
Wright
Yellow Medicine

Ads by Google