Yes No
We Value Your Privacy. We are commited to privacy & strictly adhere to our privacy policy. For further details, please read our privacy policy.

Missouri Car Insurance Laws

Auto insurance laws vary from state to state, and what is required in one state may not be required in another so it is important to know the regulations in Missouri. The penalties and fines for not having proper insurance can be expensive so make sure you know what is required in Missouri.

MO Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations:

Missouri Dept. of Insurance
P.O. Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in MO:

$25,000 for injury/death to one person

$50,000 for injury to more than one person

$10,000 for damage to property

MO Insurance is Not Required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles


MO Uninsured Penalties:

The MO DOR may suspend your driving privileges for up to one year if you fail to maintain a valid auto insurance policy for your vehicle. To get your license back after a suspension, you'll need to pay a reinstatement fee and provide proof of a valid insurance policy for three years following the date of the suspension. - The court may decide to suspend your driver's license - The citation will be entered on your driving record, and four penalty points will be placed against your license - The court may order the Driver License Bureau to supervise you to verify that you maintain appropriate auto liability coverage

Failure to maintain proper insurance could lead to the suspension of your license and vehicle registration. You may also be assessed four (4) points for any conviction for failure to maintain Financial Responsibility. It only takes a total of eight (8) points within an 18-month period to lose your driving privileges in Missouri.

If your driving privileges and/or license plates are suspended for not having insurance, the following suspension periods may apply: - 1st suspension = 0 days - 2nd suspension in two years = 90 days - 3rd and subsequent suspension = 1 year *** After the period of suspension, your driver license and/or license plates can be reinstated if the Driver License Bureau receives the following: - 1st suspension: Proof of insurance and $20 reinstatement fee; - 2nd suspension: Proof of insurance and $200 reinstatement fee; or - 3rd and subsequent suspension: Proof of insurance $400 reinstatement fee.

If you drive while your license is suspended for failure to meet the Financial Responsibility requirements, you may be subject to a fine of up to five hundred dollars ($500) or imprisoned not exceeding six (6) months, or both.


MO Department of Insurance Contact Information:

N/A

MO State Insurance Department Website:





Directory of Missouri Auto Insurance Agents by County

Adair
Andrew
Atchison
Audrain
Barry
Barton
Bates
Benton
Bollinger
Boone
Buchanan
Butler
Caldwell
Callaway
Camden
Cape Girardeau
Carroll
Carter
Cass
Cedar
Chariton
Christian
Clark
Clay
Clinton
Cole
Cooper
Crawford
Dade
Dallas
Daviess
Dekalb
Dent
Douglas
Dunklin
Franklin
Gasconade
Gentry
Greene
Grundy
Harrison
Henry
Hickory
Holt
Howard
Howell
Iron
Jackson
Jasper
Jefferson
Johnson
Knox
Laclede
Lafayette
Lawrence
Lewis
Lincoln
Linn
Livingston
Macon
Madison
Maries
Marion
Mcdonald
Mercer
Miller
Mississippi
Moniteau
Monroe
Montgomery
Morgan
New Madrid
Newton
Nodaway
Oregon
Osage
Ozark
Pemiscot
Perry
Pettis
Phelps
Pike
Platte
Polk
Pulaski
Putnam
Ralls
Randolph
Ray
Reynolds
Ripley
Saint Charles
Saint Clair
Sainte Genevieve
Saint Francois
Saint Louis
Saint Louis City
Saline
Schuyler
Scotland
Scott
Shannon
Shelby
Stoddard
Stone
Sullivan
Taney
Texas
Vernon
Warren
Washington
Wayne
Webster
Wright

Ads by Google