Yes No
We Value Your Privacy. We are commited to privacy & strictly adhere to our privacy policy. For further details, please read our privacy policy.

New Mexico Car Insurance Laws

Auto insurance laws vary from state to state, and what is required in one state may not be required in another so it is important to know the regulations in New Mexico. The penalties and fines for not having proper insurance can be expensive so make sure you know what is required in New Mexico.

NM Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations:

New Mexico Public Regulation Commission / New Mexico Insurance Div.
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504

Minimum Car Insurance Coverage in NM:

$25,000 for injury/death to one person

$50,000 for injury to more than one person

$10,000 for damage to property

NM Insurance is Not Required on:

Off-highway vehicles

Non-registered nonoperational vehicles


NM Uninsured Penalties:

Violations could result in a fine and suspension of your car's registration if you can't prove financial responsibility

If you actually did not have insurance when you were pulled over, you face more severe consequences. These might include being charged with a misdemeanor, having to pay a fine of up to $300, and losing your vehicle's registration.


NM Department of Insurance Contact Information:

1-505-827-4601 or
Toll Free: 1-800-947-4722

NM State Insurance Department Website:





Directory of New Mexico Auto Insurance Agents by County

Bernalillo
Chaves
Cibola
Colfax
Curry
De Baca
Dona Ana
Eddy
Grant
Guadalupe
Hidalgo
Lea
Lincoln
Los Alamos
Luna
Mckinley
Otero
Quay
Rio Arriba
Roosevelt
Sandoval
San Juan
San Miguel
Santa Fe
Sierra
Socorro
Taos
Torrance
Union
Valencia

Ads by Google